Is Freelancing for Everyone?


Many people like the idea of being their own boss, whether it is owning their own business or being a freelancer.  But not everyone is able to do this kind of job.  Knowing if freelancing is for you is important to consider.

There are many things to consider:

  • Are you able to work on your own?
  • Do you need the regular office to help you get work done?
  • Does working at home scare you or excite you?
  • How well do you deal with distractions?
  • Do you know your limits?  Can you set limits so your family knows to leave you alone and get work done?
  • If you work from home, can you step away when necessary to do other things?  Can you step away from home things to take care of work?

I work as a freelancer so I can work around our schedule and what we have going on.  I can work when the kids are napping, when they go to bed at night or when they are playing outside.  If my husband is home and not working, he can help me with the kids so I can get work done.  I decide if I want to work on that expects me to work set hours or if I want to work as long as I meet the deadlines.

I also have to know when to when to let go of clients and when I can take on more clients.  I have the flexibility of knowing when I can rearrange my schedule and when I can’t.  I have found different ways to help me stay focused and organized on what I need to get done.  I also have to know what I am not willing to do or what I am not willing to use.  Technology can be helpful, but also knowing when you pay for services and when you don’t pay for services.

Understanding if you are ready or able to do freelancing can make all the difference in making it happen.

6 thoughts on “Is Freelancing for Everyone?

  1. With the economy like it is right now, I’ve been considering taking on some freelance at-home work to help my husband out financially. I also though homeschool my youngest daughter, besides being wife and mom. I can’t go out to work due to my health issues and thought this would be one way I can help. It’s like encouragement from God that this is in his leading, especially having you visit my blog and now me finding your blog. I will be checking out all your posts on your own experience with freelancing from home. I’m excited about considering this new adventure.

    • Let me know if you have any questions about freelancing at home. Like you, I am helping my husband out financially. I don’t have health issues keeping me from working outside the home, but I have 3 children under the age of 4 years old. Freelancing is the best option as I would have to make $20 – $25/hr. outside the home to cover taxes, child care and even gas to get to and from work and still have money to put towards other bills. Since that isn’t realistic, freelancing is the best option for us. Realize, it will take some time to get started. Did I see you are a writer? If so, I may have an option for you.

      • I will be asking questions as they come up. I have had poetry published in books, and a few scripts performed. I do write poetry, lyrics, scripts, short stories, and devotionals. I have a work background in the entertainment theater field, and a degree in Music/Vocal Performance with a Drama minor.
        I am nervous about taking this step, as it is a new world for me. I’ve always worked outside the home, besides being mom, wife, and homeschool teacher. I’ve worked in other fields, as a substitute teacher, tutor, and owned my own business for a short time. As I said, though, with the economy like it is I know that I need to help my husband with financial matters. Having fibromyalgia and severe arthritis, working outside the home is no longer an option, so this is actually a way of working that I can do right now.

      • To start out, realize it may take a little time to get a job. Don’t get discourage with the rates you see that seem low. You may need to start at a little lower rate, like $8 or $9 and then as you get work change the rate to $10 or more an hour. I had to do that so I could get some feedback. Make sure you are being realistic and know you are helping provide for your family.

        If you are interested in writing articles I have a job. The rate per article varies based on the topic. Let me know if you are interested and I can try and connect you with my client. He says he is always looking for good writers.

        Also, read my other blog post to see what I have shared about freelancing and oDesk. I plan on writing some more articles in the next few days I hope you and others will find helpful.

        Just so you know, I am a pastors wife with 3 children under the age of 4 years old. So freelancing/working from home is the best option for our family in order to help with the family finances. Freelancing allows me to work around our family schedule of church activities and then what I need to do with the children.

        Have a great day. If you have questions feel free to email me at stayathomefreelancingmom@gmail.com.

      • Thanks for the encouragement and information. I will be looking into it more over the next couple of weeks…that should get me past a week of babysitting my granddaughter and a week of church camp for my daughter, and during that time I hope to look at the two freelance sites that I’ve been presented with ODesk and Elance. I will get the rest of my profile up and learn about the sites, take some tests, and hopefully be ready to go and take on freelance work. I love to write, and from the looks of most articles in newspapers and on the web, know I can do better than what I’ve seen lately…lol. Love to research things too. But I also want to make sure I do this right, legally, and that I can sit down with my husband and daughter and work in the right amount of time where I can work without interruption. You know how it is for moms…we can’t even watch a television show or go to the restroom without an interruption…lol. I will let you know when I’ve got my oDesk up and running. I worked on it some last night until I felt my brain was going to pop…lol. I’ll check out more of your articles, and really appreciate the way you write them in an encouraging and helpful way. Thanks again!

  2. I couldn’t agree more – freelancing takes a lot of discipline and professiponalism. And I hate it when some freelancers say the monitoring tools like that of oDesk and Staff.com takes away the essence of freedom in working. For me, it doesn’t work that way. The monitoring tools are there to guarantee that job is done. Freelancing on the other hand is being able to do the job at your own comfort – own time, own pace, own place.

Leave a Reply

